Raising Awareness: Youngsters with Cancer…Lupus to be Exact

chanel

Hello fellow Captivators! 

Hope everyone is having an amazing week! I sure am, but unfortunately some others are not. To be more precise, some others CAN’T! It saddens me to know that while some of us are out there enjoying our lives and doing what we want without many limits besides those imposed by our government, some others are in their home suffering and looking for ways to survive. Here I want to share with you a very touching story of a young girl whose name I cannot mention for her own privacy. What I can tell you is that she is a beautiful 23 year old woman who happens to be a mother of girls as well. She has a disease and did not have the courage to speak out about it before, but now, she has decided to RAISE AWARENESS by sharing her story. In doing so, she has motivated, inspired and touched many people, including myself.

I will never forget reading her Facebook post because I was able to relate. My aunt had the same disease she had and I saw my poor aunt suffer through constant hospital visits, chemo, and blood infusions through a thick tube on her chest and stomach. Knowing that this young girl was going through the same thing really broke my heart. It also opened up my eyes; being young does not mean we are immune. Being young does not mean we will always be okay. Being young does not automatically mean we are healthy. 

Luckily, she is living her normal life as a mother and she smiles more than often (she has a beautiful smile too). She posts random things on her social networking sites just like everyone else, she has stories like everyone else, she loves, she cries, she is just like all of us, but with a horrible disease that she has to fight EVERY SINGLE DAY. 

The reason why it inspired and motivated me is because I realized a lot of us complain too much about everything. We complain about not having enough makeup, not having a big home, having to be a mom, etc. The list goes on and on and on and on…doesnt it? We all complain, and sometimes we do it without even noticing. We are so bad. Here we are complaining about our lives when others are happy and beautiful even though they are in one of the worst positions any human can be in.

I thank this young girl for sharing her story with us and she allowed me to share it with all of you here on my blog. I URGE YOU GUYS TO SHARE THIS STORY ON WORDPRESS, FACEBOOK, TUMBLR, ETC. PLEASE SHARE! Again, this is to raise awareness and for all of us to have an inspiring story (we always need one). So this is her post, directly from her page:

 

“Usually I would never in a million years put what I go through on a daily basis with this disease, but because someone has been helping me this past week get through this, I’ve been inspired to share my story in hopes it would do the same for someone else.
When I was 16 years old I was diagnosed with lupus, I am now going on 24 years old. For 7 years now most of my life has been in and out of hospitals, I currently have 7 different doctors that I see. At 16 years old I went to my primary doctor for leg pain, my doctor at the time ran a series of test on me at the time I had no idea. I then went back two weeks later and he diagnosed me with lupus. At that time I wasn’t really sure what it was, I heard of it only one time and it was on America’s Next Top Model. I saw my grandma and mom cry and I then knew it was something serious. Lupus is an auto-immune disease, one that takes on several forms and can affect any part of the body, but is most commonly attacks the skin, joints, the heart, lungs, blood, kidneys, and the brain, It is treatable but not curable. At the ending of age16 I was hospitalized for about 4 days, I lost a lot of blood and experienced my first blood transfusion. My blood was down to 0.3 and normal blood is 11-12 pints of blood, I nearly died. I now have anemia and in my entire life I’ve had about 4 blood transfusions. There has been so many days and nights where I have been in so much pain, due to my bones. Also, what comes with lupus is fatigue I HATE that more than anything in this world! I am always extremely tired and there is nothing I can do about it. I’ve been on a few medications before but in my personal opinion they don’t help in no way shape or form. After I had my daughter I started taking the steroids and It made me drop my weight to 90 pounds, I was very depressed, I felt drugged up all of the time, I felt so ugly inside and out, and most importantly I felt alone. I had people there to talk to but NO ONE that never knew what felt the way that I did, yes it’s very easy to judge and criticize someone but it’s just as easy not to be arrogant and educate yourself on it. Especially when it’s your own blood. So All these years I’ve kept the pain, my tears, and my fears from everyone I shut everyone out because it was my problem because no one could ever understand how I look so good on the outside and not know the inside was all messed up. I recently went to the doctors about 2 weeks ago and I was yet again diagnosed with another disease called Sjogren syndrome. Sjogren syndrome: Is a disorder of your immune system. That just has if not more than worse symptoms then the lupus. I have been having a really bad flare up from both the lupus and the sjogren, I have this really ugly rash that is taking over my face and body it hurts really bad. My back has been in excruciating pain as well as my legs, I have really bad migraines, My vision is starting to weaken, My memory is starting to fade, My fatigue has been my worst struggle yet, it is extremely hard to get up in the morning. The reason why I get up every morning is because of my girls, I enjoy every second, every minute, every hour, with them. they are my world, they give me life, they give me strength when I am weak. I can’t imagine leaving these two wonderful girls here on earth knowing I didn’t give it my all!!! because I never know what might happen having lupus is so unpredictable, I can have a massive heart attack at any given moment. I am scared without a doubt, I fear the unknown, and I now know that yes at the end of the day it still is my problem, but I do not have to go through this alone. I am thankful for the family and friends that I do have that actually cares about what happens to me, you truly are the best support system.
To everyone else who says that I am faking it or say don’t believe her she’s lying, or she looks perfectly fine. I don’t need you I don’t want you in my life I don’t care what you think about me because to be quite honest who would want to have such a terrible disease. I wish I was lying I really do but unfortunately, I can’t change that nor can you change your ignorance.

This was not meant to be written as a woe is me, I don’t need anyone feeling sorry for me because I do that rather perfectly. thank you for taking the time to read this I hope I can help in anyway.
Lupus is just as important as any other disease out there. Every day someone dies from this disease. I just want to raise awareness.”

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and got something beneficial out of it. Remember friends, to enjoy your life and live gratefully. Now I leave you with this quote;

“The rewards for those who persevere far exceed the pain that precedes the victory”

-Karen Bliss Livingston

 

If you or anyone you know suffers through something and have not been able to speak about it or have not had any support, visit my Fb page “After Silence”. There you will get to meet this amazing young girl who had the courage to tell her story and stand strong as she is one of the page administrators as well. 

Thank you all!

2 thoughts on “Raising Awareness: Youngsters with Cancer…Lupus to be Exact

  1. jasminekeclipse says:

    Thank you for this. I’ve been suffering with lupus for almost two years now and it’s so challenging, but very uplifting and helpful when I see posts of encouragement like this. So thank you. ❤

    Like

    • Oh you are welcome!!! Im sorry to hear that you are ALSO battling with this. Just like this girl here, it is possible to remain strong and live your daily life. I bet it is challenging, but I hope you have a lot of faith in yourself and if you need someone to share your experiences with, please follow us on Fb “After silence” . we would love if you shared your story! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

